Close Menu
Bel Air Family, Divorce & Criminal Lawyer
Call for Consultation 410-838-0004

What is the Difference Between DWI and DUI in Maryland?

DUI8

Today the subject for examination involves the difference between the Maryland crimes of driving while impaired (DWI) and driving under the influence (DUI). The following sections will explore the laws and penalties in Maryland for DWI and DUI.

What is the Definition of DWI in Maryland?

Under Maryland state laws, it is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle while impaired. It is important to note that the impaired standard in Maryland is slightly lower than the intoxicated standard for DUI. DWI laws can apply to drivers with a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.07 or more. While this is technically below the legal limit for alcohol recognized by most states Maryland laws provide DWI as an alternative, addressing reckless and careless driving behavior.

What are the Penalties for DWI in Maryland?

The penalties for DWI in Maryland are harsh even for the first offense, though the penalties do escalate for subsequent offenses. Please find below a breakdown of DWI penalties in Maryland for the first and second convictions.

  • First DWI Conviction – The driver can face a combination of penalties, including $500 in fines, 60 days in jail, 180 days of driver’s license suspension and 8 points on their driving record.
  • Second DWI Conviction – The driver can face a combination of penalties, including $500 in fines, 12 months in jail, 12 months of driver’s license suspension and 8 points on their driving record.

What is the Definition of DUI in Maryland?

As established in Maryland state laws, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence. The legal limit for alcohol in Maryland is a BAC of 0.08. Drivers who register a BAC of 0.08 or more are legally intoxicated, though it is crucial to note that intoxication is not limited to alcohol. Maryland laws include illegal drugs and other compounds in the state definition of intoxication.

What are the Penalties for DUI in Maryland?

The penalties for DUI in Maryland are severe even for the first conviction. That being said, DUI penalties do intensify for subsequent offenses. Please find below a breakdown of DUI penalties in Maryland for the first and second convictions.

  • First DUI Conviction – The driver can face a combination of penalties, including $1,000 in fines, 12 months in jail, 180 days of driver’s license suspension and 12 points on their driving record.
  • Second DUI Conviction – The driver can face a combination of penalties, including $2,000 in fines, 24 months in jail, 12 months of driver’s license suspension and 12 points on their driving record.

Contact Us Today for Help

Whether you are dealing with charges for DWI, DUI or other criminal offenses, it can be highly advantageous to seek out a trusted criminal defense attorney. Don’t hesitate to contact Schlaich & Thompson, Chartered in Bel Air, Maryland for help.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google Plus

© 2017 - 2018 Schlaich & Thompson Chartered. All rights reserved.
This law firm website is managed by MileMark Media.

Contact Form Tab