Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Bel Air Family, Divorce & Criminal Lawyer
Call for Consultation 410-838-0004

DUI/DWI Vs. Reckless/Aggressive Driving In Maryland

DUI20

In addition to criminal offenses like driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while impaired (DWI), the Maryland Code of Transportation prohibits many other types of traffic offenses. Within this realm, reckless and aggressive driving are violations with severe criminal consequences, much like DUI/DWI.

DUI/DWI Laws & Penalties in Maryland

The state laws against DUI/DWI appear under Maryland Code of Transportation Section 21-902. This section makes it unlawful to operate a motor vehicle while:

  • Under the influence of alcohol;
  • Impaired by alcohol;
  • Under the influence of any drug or a combination of drugs and alcohol; or
  • Under the influence of any controlled substance.

Section 21-902 also establishes the Maryland penalties for DUI/DWI. Any person who commits DUI/DWI a:

First Time — Will likely face a prison sentence between two months and one year as well as criminal fines between $500 and $1,000; or

Second Time — Will likely face a prison sentence of one to two years as well as criminal fines between $500 and $2,000.

Reckless Driving Laws & Penalties in Maryland

The state laws against reckless driving appear under Maryland Code of Transportation Section 21-901.1. This section makes it unlawful to operate a motor vehicle:

  • With a wanton or willful disregard for the safety of other people or property; or
  • In a manner that indicates a wanton or willful disregard for the safety of other people or property.
  • Section 21-901.1 also establishes the Maryland penalties for reckless driving. Any person who commits reckless driving in Maryland can face a maximum punishment of $1,000 in fines plus administrative points.

Aggressive Driving Laws & Penalties in Maryland

The state laws against aggressive driving appear under Maryland Code of Transportation Section 21-901.2. This section makes it unlawful to commit any three of the following traffic offenses in the same course of conduct:

  • Failure to observe certain traffic lights, in violation of Maryland Code of Transportation Section 21-202;
  • Improper passing or overtaking of other vehicles, in violation of Maryland Code of Transportation Section 21-303;
  • Passing other vehicles on the right side, in violation of Maryland Code of Transportation Section 21-304;
  • Improper driving on lane divided roads, in violation of Maryland Code of Transportation Section 21-309;
  • Following other vehicles too closely, in violation of Maryland Code of Transportation Section 21-310;
  • Failure to yield the right-of-way, in violation of Maryland Code of Transportation Section 21-403; or
  • Exceeding the maximum or posted speed limit, in violation of Maryland Code of Transportation Section 21-801.1.
  • Any person who commits aggressive driving in Maryland can face a maximum punishment of $500 in fines plus administrative points.

Do You Need Legal Help?

If you have legal questions about DUI/DWI or reckless/aggressive driving in Maryland, we can help. Don’t hesitate to reach out to the Bel Air criminal attorneys at Schlaich & Thompson, Chartered.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

© 2017 - 2022 Schlaich & Thompson Chartered. All rights reserved.
This law firm website is managed by MileMark Media.

Contact Form Tab